Workshops

Second Step Recovery College Workshop Tutors

If you are interested in attending any of the workshops below please enrol here.  Please note that we can't accept 'walk-ins' due to pre-arranged group numbers. If you turn up on the day and your name isn't on the workshop register you may be asked to attend on another mutually agreed date.

Planning for Christmas

Dates

Venues

Times

Fri 17 Nov

The Station, Silver Street. Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

10:30am - 1pm

Wed 22 Nov   

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10

2pm - 4:30pm

Mon 27 Nov

St. Werburghs Community Centre, Horley Road, St. Werburghs, BS2 9TJ   

2pm - 4:30pm

Tues 28 Nov  

The Station, Silver Street, Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

2pm - 4:30pm

Thurs 30 Nov

The RNIB Centre, 10 Stillhouse Lane, Bedminster BS3 4EB   

2pm - 4:30pm

 

Assertive Communication

This workshop explores different styles of communication, and identifies strategies for ‘Speaking up’ and saying ‘No’

Date

Venue

Time

Mon 16 Oct

St. Werburghs Community Centre, Horley Road, St. Werburghs, BS2 9TJ  

2pm - 4:30pm

Tues 24 Oct  

The Station, Silver Street, Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

2pm - 4:30pm

Wed 8 Nov   

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10 5PY  

2pm - 4:30pm

Fri 10 Nov

The Station, Silver Street, Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

2pm - 4:30pm

Thurs 14 Dec  

The RNIB Centre, 10 Stillhouse Lane, Bedminster, BS3 4EB

2pm - 4:30pm

 

Building Resilience 'Bouncing Back'

When life gets challenging what do we do to cope and carry on? Within this session we discover how we might approach a difficult situation, what behaviours / actions might hold us back and what approaches move us forward.

Dates

Venues

Times

Wed 1 Nov

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10 5PY   

2pm - 4:30pm

Tues 7 Nov  

The Station, Silver Street, Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

2pm - 4:30pm

Thurs 16 Nov  

The RNIB Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS3 4EB

2pm - 4:30pm

 

Introduction to Confidence Building

Looking at what confidence is, what we think characterises confidence and how we can improve our own. 

Date

Venue

Time

Wed 18 Oct  

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10 5PY    

2pm - 4:30pm

Mon 23 Oct

St. Werburghs Community Centre, Horley Road, BS2 9TJ

2pm - 4:30pm

Tues 14 Nov  

The Station, Silver Street, Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

2pm - 4:30pm

Thurs 23 Nov  

The RNIB Centre, 10 Stillhouse Lane, Bedminster, BS3 4EB   

2pm - 4:30pm

 

Introduction to Mindfulness

Basic concepts of mindfulness and helps you to learn guiding principles and basic practices

Date

Venue

Time

Fri 20 Oct

The Station, Silver St. Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

10:30am - 1pm

Tues 31 Oct

The Station, Silver St. Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

2pm - 4:30pm

Thurs 9 Nov  

The RNIB Centre, 10 Stillhouse Lane, Bedminster, BS3 4EB    

2pm - 4:30pm

Mon 18 Dec

St. Werburghs Community Centre, Horley Rd, BS2 9TJ

2pm - 4:30pm

 

Self Awareness

Looks at who we are, what our values are and what influences our personalities.  This session is about how we can get to know ourselves a little better.

Dates

Venues

Times

Wed 25 Oct

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10 5PY   

2pm - 4:30pm

Fri 3 Nov

The Station, Silver Street. Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

10:30am - 1pm

Wed 15 Nov   

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10 5PY

2pm - 4:30pm

Tue 5 Dec

The Station, Silver Street. Bristol City Centre, BS1 2AG

10:30am - 1pm

Mon 11 Dec

St. Werburghs Community Centre, Horley Road, St. Werburghs, BS2 9TJ   

2pm - 4:30pm

 

Ways to Wellbeing

Improve wellbeing and mental health with 5 simple, practical, tools that can easily be incorporated into daily life and provide benefits to all. 

Dates

Venues

Times

Mon 30 Oct    

St. Werburghs Community Centre, Horley Rd, St. Werburghs, BS2 9TJ     

2pm - 4:30pm

Wed 13 Dec  

The Greenway Centre, Doncaster Road, Southmead, BS10 5PY  

2pm - 4:30pm

 

If you are interested in attending any of the workshops above please enrol here. Please note that we can't accept 'walk-ins' due to pre-arranged group numbers. If you turn up on the day and your name isn't on the workshop register you may be asked to attend on another mutually agreed date.

For more information call us on 0117 914 5498  or email bristol.wellbeing.college@second-step.co.uk